23

Bijli and her kittens have been missing for the past 3 days. Today I learnt that they were kidnapped by my neighbours and dropped off far away in another locality.

I woke up late. I woke up to this news. I felt my insides crumbling as I came to terms with the fact that I might never get to see them again. I was asleep on Saturday when it happened. Could I have done something?

I collapsed on my bed and bawled. It felt like a breakup, even worse actually, since both parties loved each other but someone else intervened and fucked it up.

They were my buoy of stability all through this lockdown. I can't unsee the face of the little one meowing aggressively at me, demanding that I pet him. I loved it more than he would ever have. I felt wanted. They were my friends. They were the only physical contact I had with another living being in the past 5 months.

All of this happened because the neighbours have been annoyed by the cats. I've never felt this strongly about finding a way to stop being a human being. This species, I'm ashamed to be a part of them. Humans are scum.

I hope the next revolution is the extinction of the homo sapien.